KY Representative Council

The highest power at KY is held by the Representative Council, which decides what KY does and looks like now and in the future. The meeting minutes can be found here.

The council consists of 21 members and 42 deputy members. They are ranked in order of the amount of votes each of them received. The term of the current Representative Council started in December 2019 and ends in December 2021.

The council meets approximately once per month on average during semesters and in between the meetings the members can participate in various working groups which direct the activities of KY. The Representative Council elects the chairman as well as the vice chairman, for a year at a time. The Chairman of the Representative Council does not have to be a member of the council but he/she has not a right to vote in the council meetings.

 

Duties of the Representative Council

  •       Decide the guiding principles of KY’s organizational and financial activities as well as the corresponding principles of any companies owned by KY
  •       Confirm the yearly plan of activities and budget
  •       Discuss the annual report and decide about the approval of the financial statement and granting of freedom from responsibility to the previous board
  •       Decide about the establishment and disestablishment of permanent positions
  •       Decide about the establishment and disestablishment of various working groups and standing committees
  •       Choose the Chairperson of the Board as well as other Board Members and has the power to dismiss them
  •       Choose and dismiss the Secretary General and confirms his/her sphere of duties
  •       Decide about significant relinquishing or fixing of KY’s property
  •       Decide about decisions regarding the obtaining, relinquishing or fixing of property in cases that have been brought for the council to decide

If you want to read more about the decisions the Representative Council has made this term, you can find the minutes of Representative Council meetings here.

 

Chairman of the Representative Council: Anna Halsas, anna.halsas@ky.fi

Vice Chairman of the Representative Council: Oona Sunnari

If a person is a member of the Executive Board of KY, KY Employee or KY Foundation Board, she/he is incapable to work at the Representative Council. These persons are marked with a star (*) on the list below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Representative Council members

Topi Hukkanen, topi.hukkanen@aalto.fi

Heikki Helaniemi*

Hannu Häikiö, hannu.haikio@aalto.fi

Topi Ronkainen*

Touko Aroheikki

Mikko Hiltunen

Nina Zhao, nina.zhao@aalto.fi

Maija Saari, maija.a.saari@aalto.fi

Julian Gröndahl, julian.grondahl@aalto.fi

Maria Aalto, maria.s.aalto@aalto.fi

Iiro Halinen, iiro.halinen@aalto.fi

Aapo Huotari, aapo.huotari@aalto.fi

Roni Hakola, roni.hakola@hotmail.com

Elettra Virtanen, elettra.virtanen@gmail.com

Pettiina Niiranen, pettiina.niiranen@aalto.fi

Asta Friman, asta.friman@aalto.fi

Kari Karttunen

Laura Pirilä

Niko Ylä-Poikelus, niko.yla-poikelus@aalto.fi

Yahye Abdi, yahye.abdi@aalto.fi

Paavo Nissinen, paavo.nissinen@aalto.fi

Representative Council deputy members

Apurva Ganoo, apurva.ganoo@aalto.fi

Jesse Haapanen

Oskari Mäkinen

Antti Pentikäinen, antti.i.pentikainen@gmail.com

Janne Starck, janne.starck@aalto.fi

Elsi Erkko, elsi.erkko@aalto.fi

Antti Perttula, antti.perttula@aalto.fi

Pauli PIhlajamäki*

Nora Jarner, nora.jarner@aalto.fi

Niklas Lindemann, niklas.lindemann@aalto.fi

Ahti Brummer

Katariina Järvinen

Joel Kulikoff

Jarkko Kosunen*

Peter Gaggl, peter.gaggl@aalto.fi

Aino Bergius, aino.bergius@aalto.fi

Pyry Päivärinta

Ville Koikkalainen, ville.koikkalainen@aalto.fi

Topi Soivio

Jasmin Jutila, jasmin.jutila@gmail.com

Marja Karvinen, marja.karvinen@aalto.fi

Maria Koskela, maria.koskela@aalto.fi

Nicole Grekov

Tulika Ganoo

Maksim Niskanen

Aarne Santamäki

Linnea Anttila, linneakatariina@gmail.com

Akintayo Oyebola, akintayo.oyebola@aalto.fi

Emmi Seppälä, emmimatildaa@gmail.com

Joni Kariluoto

Aleksi Romakkaniemi, aleksi.romakkaniemi@aalto.fi

Topias Sorsa

Areeb Quadir, areeb.quadir@aalto.fi

Rasmus Ylinen*

Pihla Kivihuhta

Laura Nikola

Antti Lehto

Aleksi Huhtamäki, aleksi.huhtamaki@aalto.fi

Ronja Kouvo

Elina Anttalainen*, elina.anttalainen@gmail.com

Anna Halsas*, anna.halsas@aalto.fi

Arttu Aine